top of page
  • Writer's picturesassyvictoria

LA Coffeeshops + Cafes 2019

Updated: Mar 17, 2019


It's no secret that I'm obsessed with coffee shops. I definitely have my favorites on Oahu and the one's I frequent, double as a work environment for me. I love the vibes, the culture, the overall ambiance and experience you get when you walk into a shop for your daily cuppa.

In LA, there is no shortage of amazing cafes to choose from – it's a dream come true! Here are few of the shops I visited during my recent trip. They all offer amazing drinks, foods and aesthetics with an "Instagram worthy" touch.

 

Alfred's

@alfred

Iconic. They're pretty much the first coffee place I think of when I'm in LA. Mega photo worthy. Your Instagram story and grid will thank you.

This particular location was in the Lobby at the Line Hotel in Koreatown. The hotel has cute areas with tables (inside and outside) to enjoy your drink while you do some work, chat or just relax for a bit. The lobby area is shared with all the guests and with the cafe/restaurant inside as well.

They're known for a lot of awesome drinks and foods, but I really like the Matcha (duh). This is just with whole milk, but you can get it with different milk substitutions. Something I didn't know though was that some Alfred locations only take cards. I think it has something to do with them adding in a tip – they have a sign put up with more info about it. I don't think it's a bad thing, especially since most people carry cards with them anyways, but it was sorta weird for me to have to whip out my card without the option of paying in cash. Maybe just cause I'm more used to hearing "cash only"? Anyways, just don't forget your debit.

Habitat

@habitatcoffeela

So I'm not sure if this one has multiple locations, but lucky for me, this amazing cafe was a 20 minute walk from Kelsey's! Habitat is so cute, has amazing vibes and extremely reasonable prices. I WENT THREE TIMES. yes, three.

The first time I went there, I got a vanilla latte because I was trying to play it safe and wasn't feeling like just a regular iced coffee. Let me tell you...the vanilla latte was so good!

The second time I went, Kelsey and I were just grabbing really quick before going across town for a meeting I had. We got the Hawaiian Hazelnut Coffee (LOL, Hawaii girls). I'm not even exaggerating when I say it was one of the best Hazelnut Iced Coffees I've had.

The third time I went, I went with Kanani for a quick hang out before she went to class. I got the Hawaiian Hazelnut Iced Coffee again and a zucchini, feta cheese pastry thing. Super good too!

Habitat isn't just a coffee shop, but a full blown cafe with lots of food options, outlets to do work, free WIFI and an atmosphere that is artsy, casual and comfortable. It has everything I want in a perfect neighborhood cafe/coffeeshop.

*Also, I didn't end up taking any good photos of my drinks because I was too excited about them, soooo...sorry.


Pollen

@pollenlosangeles

Sunday Brunch! Kelsey and I went to Pollen in Echo Park on a really rainy day. It's okay though because our outfits were 👌👌👌 and we were feeling super LA so a little rain didn't stop us.

Pollen has an Australian type of flare with LA inspiration (this is just from my observations, don't quote me). Kelsey swore by getting the Oatmilk latte (sooo LA lol) so we both got one with our accompanying meals. I've heard so much about oatmilk that I was very ready to have my first oatmilk experience that day. I definitely had high expectations since all my LA friends seemed to be obsessed....that and the fact that it's kind of expensive HAHA. It was really good though and I would definitely get it again!

I wonder when Hawaii shops will start to carry oatmilk...or are there some places that do?


Urth Caffe

@urthcaffe


Oh Urth. You're pretty iconic, too.

Every time I hear someone's gone to LA, they always go to Urth Cafe. I'd never been previously, but had to go since it was so close to where we were staying in Beverly Hills. Everything looked so good and healthy and their desserts looked beyond amazing; I wish I had gotten something! Next time.

We went for dinner so I got a chicken pesto sandwich (YUM) and this insanely good "Rising Sun Matcha Latte."

You guys. This combines two of my favorite things: Matcha and Coffee – with a little hint of chocolate. It was soooo good. You could taste the Matcha, the coffee and the chocolate, perfectly blending with each other and working together. I would DEFINITELY order this again when I'm there next.


Cafe Dulce

@cafedulcela

So I didn't actually get a drink here, but Ann and Kelsey did! The interior is soooo beautiful, your Instagram will thank you, again. And from what I remember, the prices are very reasonable. I'm including this, even though I didn't get a drink myself, because we took a bunch of pictures at The Row - DTLA, Cafe Dulce location. That's how awesome the interior is. Plus they had lots of tables; So a great cafe to sit and get some work done. The next time I go, I'm definitely going to order something.

Here's one of the photos from inside. And also Kelsey modeling her coffee.

Eightfold

@eightfoldcoffee

Ann is a HUGE coffee shop lover like me. We could literally just go from cafe to cafe and take photos all day – and that's what we do half the time we're together! It's the best. She is always posting photos on her story of Eightfold so when we got the chance to go, I was so excited to see the place she's always at! It's such a beautiful little space. I didn't get coffee here, again, but Kelsey got an Oatmilk latte (second of the day!) and so we got this cool shot from it (thank u).

I loved the aesthetics in there. It's totally Ann's style, which is what I loved about it the most!


(so many fuck boys)

Intelligentsia

@intelligentsiacoffee

There are multiple locations of this very trendy, hipster coffee shop. I went to their Silverlake location. It's very specific and aesthetically on point, but very much on the pricey side. Would I go again? YES. Because I could taste the quality of the Matcha in my latte; it was roughly $6 for this, and the photo makes it look MUCH bigger than it was, but I would probably go again as a treat to myself every so often. It's definitely a great space to do work, chill, or have a meeting, like I did on this day. It was nice to have something hot as well because it was pouring like crazy that morning.

But also, how beautiful is the latte heart design and the cup? #onpointbranding


MOSAIC

@mosaicsouthpasadena

Okay, so maybe I shouldn't include this as a coffee place I went to, because it's definitely not, but I just thought it was soooo cute! It's from Ann's church, Mosaic, and they serve free coffee before church starts! HOW FRICKEN CUTE.

Verve

@vervecoffee

I had a whole day to myself so I asked my coffeeshop connoisseur (aka, Ann Lee) where I should go to get some work done and chill. She helped me figure out my Lyft plan and how long it would take me to get to Verve Coffee Roasters. It was honestly the best decision! Such a lovely cafe with extremely friendly, helpful staff, lots of options and great seating.

Quick storytime: It was pouring (as it was during much of my time there) so their outside area was closed off and inside was packed. Luckily, I snagged a four-top table so I could sit down, but there was no outlet by me. I needed one. Less than 5 min since sitting down and I'm waiting for my chai tea latte (pictured below), a girl comes over and asks if I'm meeting anyone. I said no, and she asks if I wouldn't mind switching with her since she's meeting three other people and it was packed. She was sitting in the corner RIGHT BY AN OUTLET. Of course I switched with her! I was way more comfortable in a little corner by myself and an outlet just waiting for me. That, the super warming chai, and the friendly staff, made my Verve experience 👌.


Sip Matcha

@sipmatcha

Smorgasburg LA happens at The Row - DTLA every Sunday...at least I think it's every Sunday. Sip is one of the more popular vendors, serving Matcha lattes and other Matcha related drinks so you know of course I had to stand in line for one! It's also a VERY Instagrammable place, especially since it was created by a few Instagrammers!

I added boba into mine so it cost a little more (clearly we can see that I don't have the same frugalness when I'm traveling as I do when I'm at home LOL) but this ended up costing $7.00!!! Definitely a splurge. It was really good Matcha, too, and considering the hype of it, I'd say it was a good purchase. It's not super sweet, but I think you can get it sweetened if you wanted.

Paper or Plastik

@paper_plastik

This cafe is connected to a dance studio and from where I was sitting up top, I could see a dance class going on through the windows behind me! I loved it.

I went to this cafe for a meeting and ordered an iced coffee and this OUT OF THIS WORLD DELICIOUS AVOCADO TOAST. So yeah, this isn't a coffee post necessarily, but it's still a cafe so it counts, right? The avo toast had so much going on, but it worked so well! And it was on the spicy side which I love. Very filling.

I would definitely recommend coming here for a meeting or for brunch! Lots of food options in a very chill environment. Plus you can peak in on the dance classes going on next door! Perfect for a girl like me. :)


Philz Coffee

@philzcoffee

@philzdtla

This is a chain, but it's such a cool chain...that I don't have in Hawaii! It's only my second time experiencing a Philz, but my first time to one in LA. My first experience was in San Francisco with Lindsay and I ordered the chai latte, medium sweet. I stuck with that same order (because I like to play it safe ok) and I was not disappointed!

I sat at this Philz in DTLA for a few hours getting some work done, sending some emails, making some calls (pretending like I'm some really important, in demand person LOL) and thoroughly enjoyed my time in the shop. Their chai is probably the best I've had anywhere and at a reasonable price. Plus the way they take your order and the way they have their whole menu named and set up is very unique. I love me a Philz.


 

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page